Bismarck, North Dakota MANUAL LETTER # 3804 12/1/2023

Par.1. Material Transmitted and Purpose - Transmitted with this
Manual Letter are changes to Service Chapter 510

Par. 2. Effective Date - Changes included in this manual letter are
effective on or after December 1, 2023 unless otherwise indicated.

Penalty Periods 510-05-80-15

510-05-80-15 Penalty Periods policy was updated based on clarification
from CMS. Medicaid cannot create retroactive disqualifying transfer
(DQT). For ongoing eligible individuals where a DQT has been
discovered, the DQT period will start the first of the month following a
proper notice of adverse action. Also removed transfers made before
February 8, 2006 example.

Penalty Periods 510-05-80-15

1. The number of months and days of ineligibility for an individual shall be
equal to the total uncompensated value of all income and assets
transferred by the individual, or individual's spouse, on or after the
look-back date, divided by the average monthly cost, or daily cost as
appropriate, of nursing facility care in North Dakota at the time of the
individual's application during which the disqualifying transfer was
determined.

The following example demonstrates how the monthly and daily period
of ineligibility is calculated:

Example: Mr. Brown applied for Medicaid December 10, 2011
and it was determined Mr. Brown made a disqualifying transfer of
$70,000 in November 2010. The December 2011 application was
denied.

Mr. Brown re- applied for Medicaid on July 18, 2013. The average
cost of nursing facility care at the time the disqualifying transfer
was determined (12-2011) is $6,238 per month and $205.07 per
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day. $70,000 divided by $6,238 is 11.22 months. Eleven months
at $6,238 per month is $68,618, leaving $1,382 to which the
daily rate is applied. $1,382 divided by $205.07 is 6.73

days. Mr. Brown's penalty period is 11 months and 7 days
(partial days are rounded up).

2-—Fortransfersmade-before February-8, 2006+
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2. Transfers-Period of Ineligibility Fertransfersmade-on-orafterFebruary
820606+

a. The period of ineligibility begins on the latest of:

i. The first day of the month in which the income or assets
were transferred for less than fair market value;

ii. The first day on which the individual is receiving nursing
care services and is “otherwise eligible” for Medicaid (per
subsection 4); er
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i. The first day thereafter which is not in such a period of
ineligibility; or

ii. The first day of the month following the notice of adverse
action for ongoing eligible individuals.

b. Separate transfers for which a penalty period has not yet been
created, regardless of whether made in separate months, may be
combined into one larger transfer for processing purposes.

3. When determining if an individual is “otherwise eligible” for Medicaid:

a. The individual must have applied for Medicaid and must meet all
nonfinancial eligibility criteria;

b. Countable assets must be within appropriate Medicaid asset
levels; and

c. The monthly cost of nursing care and other medical care the
individual is responsible for must be equal to or greater than the
individual’s client share (recipient liability).

This “otherwise eligible” determination is used to establish whether an
individual would be eligible for Medicaid if they were not subject to a

penalty period. If so, the “otherwise eligible” determination is used to
establish the penalty period start.

An applicant who is determined to be “otherwise eligible” does not
mean that the applicant is actually eligible for Medicaid. Since
Medicaid is prohibited from paying any nursing care services during a
penalty period, these nursing care expenses are not allowed as a
deduction in the Post Eligibility Treatment of Income (510-05-85-
25(3)). As a result, an individual who made a disqualifying transfer
may be “otherwise eligible” for penalty period start purposes, but the
individual is not approved for Medicaid because there is no medical
need per 510-05-35-35.

Example 1: Mr. Brown made a disqualifying transfer in March
2023 2666 that results in a 6-month penalty period. He entered
the nursing home in May 2023 2666 and used his remaining
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assets to cover his cost of care. In September 2023 2666 his
assets were under $3000 and he applied for Medicaid. In
determining when Mr. Brown’s penalty period begins it is
necessary to establish when he is “otherwise eligible” for
Medicaid. First, he meets all nonfinancial criteria. Second, his
assets are within the appropriate level beginning September
202320666. Third, he has income of $1900.00 per month; he is
allowed the $10056 income level; and he pays a Medicare
premium of $88-50164.90 per month. This leaves him with a
client share of $1635.10 #6150 per month. He has actual nursing
care costs of $10,000 4828 per month and other medical
expenses of $150 per month for total medical costs of
$101504976 per month. These medical costs exceed his client
share. He meets all of the criteria to be “otherwise eligible” so his
penalty period starts September 1, 20232606.

His application for Medicaid is still denied because in
determining medical need, his other medical expenses of
$150, excluding the nursing care costs, do not exceed his
client share.

Example 2: Mr. White made a disqualifying transfer in March
20232006, entered the nursing home in May 20232666, and used
his remaining assets to cover his cost of care. In September
202320666 his assets were under $3000 and he applied for
Medicaid. In determining whether Mr. White is “otherwise
eligible” for Medicaid, it is first established that he meets all
nonfinancial criteria. Second, his assets are within the
appropriate level beginning September 2023-2686. Third, he has
income of $1+560 2500 per month; he is allowed the $10056
income level; and he pays a Medicare premium of $164.90 88-56
per month. This leaves him with a client share of $1361+58
2235.10per month. He has actual nursing care costs of $9500
3520 per month, and he has nursing home insurance that pays
$75-250 per day ($2256-7500 in a 30-day month). As a result,
the nursing care costs that he is responsible for ($1+2762000)
does NOT exceed his client share, and he is not “otherwise
eligible.” His penalty period would not start and his application
for Medicaid is denied for no medical need.
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If at a later date his nursing care costs increase, or his insurance
ends, causing his nursing care costs to exceed his client share, he
would become “otherwise eligible,” and his penalty period would
only start at that time.

4. If a transfer results in a period of ineligibility for an individual
receiving nursing care services, and the individual’s spouse begins
receiving nursing care services and is "otherwise eligible" (per
subsection 4) for Medicaid, the remaining period of ineligibility shall
be apportioned equally between the spouses if the transfer was made
on or after the individual's spouse's look-back date. Any months
remaining in the period of ineligibility must be assigned or reassigned
to the spouse who continues to receive the nursing care services if
one spouse dies or stops receiving nursing care services.

Example: Mr. and Mrs. White make a disqualifying transfer in
January 202320664. Mrs. White enters LTC in February 2023 20664
and is informed that the transfer in January will cause her to be
ineligible for Medicaid coverage of her nursing care services until
June 30, 202526866. On March 1, 20242665, Mr. White also
enters LTC and is otherwise eligible for Medicaid. There are still
16 months of the penalty period remaining, which is divided
between them. They will both be ineligible for eight months, or
through October 20242665.

If Mr. White left LTC on June 20,2024 2685, his remaining four
months and ten days from his ineligibility period must be given
back to Mrs. White, extending her period of ineligibility through
February 10, 2025-2666.

Example: Mr. and Mrs. Brown make a large disqualifying transfer
that causes 70 months of ineligibility. At the same time, Mr.
Brown enters LTC, applies for Medicaid, and is ineligible because
the disqualifying transfer was made on or after his look-back
date. Mrs. Brown enters LTC 48 62 months later and applies for
Medicaid. The disqualifying transfer was made prior to her look-
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back date (36-60months) so none of Mr. Brown's remaining 22 8
months of penalty period is assigned to Mrs. Brown.

5. As with any adverse action, proper notice is required before the
adverse action can be taken. On an application, proper notice is given
in the approval or denial notice. In an ongoing case, even though the
penalty period should have already begun, it cannot be imposed until
an advance notice is provided to the recipient. The penalty period will

beqm the first of the month foIIowmq the proper notice of adverse

Example: Ms. Green is a current Medicaid recipient receiving
HCBS. On November 2 she made a disqualifying transfer of her
home and reported it to the_zone office eeunty-on December 5.
The zone worker processes the penalty in the system December

7™, The esunty-determines—a-penalty period will begin January 1,

the first month following the advance notice to decrease benefits.

Example: Mr. Brown is a current Medicaid recipient in a long-
term care facility. On March 28 of last year he made a
disqualifying transfer of an inheritance, but did not report it until
January 15% of this year. The zone office processes the case
entering the disqualifying transfer information on January 27,
Since there is not enough time to provide an advance notice of
decrease for February, the penalty period will begin March 1st,
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